Starting our Adventure…

Thursay 15th August – Work night out

On Thurday 15th of August 2019 probably somewhere around midnight after working a 9 hour shift and then going out for some drinks with my colleagues, I was done. After a year of hard work I was finally finished. 5 months of freedom ahead!

Friday 16th August – Night out with friends
Saturday 17th August – Packed & said goodbye to best friend 😦
Sunday 18th August – Family meal

After some emotional goodbyes we both sat on the train feeling sort of numb. Over a month on and it still doesn’t really feel real. At first I found it quite hard to wind down from “work mode” constantly feeling like I should be doing something or that I’d be back to work on Monday! I think there’s definitely alot of pressure on young people in the UK (and I’m sure in lots of other places) to be constantly “on the go”.

Monday 19th August – Started our adventure!!!

Whilst preparing to do this trip I had been asked by multiple people why Adrian and I don’t just put our savings towards a deposit for our 1st house and get on the property ladder. I’d be lying if I said that we hadn’t thought about it or wondered if what we were doing wasn’t the responsible thing to do.

But at ages 19 and 20 we despite having been together for 4 years we didn’t feel ready to settle down and be tied down by a morgage straight away.

As I am writing this I am currently on the way from Montpellier to Barcelona driving past gorgeous mountain views and I can honestly say this was the best decision I have ever made.

Somewhere near Perpignan

Travel;- the only thing you can buy that makes you richer.

Unknown

Thank you for reading! 🙂

#vegan #travel #travelcouple #traveleurope #travelblog #backpacking #blog #vegantravel

Leave a comment